Skip to main content

Entomology and Nematology Department

Entomology and Nematology Department

REC Faculty

top

 

Citrus REC (Lake Alfred)

 

Dr. Lauren Diepenbrock
Dr. Lauren Diepenbrock

Assistant Professor 
Entomology
(863) 956-1151
ldiepenbrock@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

Dr. Larry Duncan
Dr. Larry Duncan

Professor
Nematology
(863) 956-8821
lwduncan@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

Dr. Kirsten Pelz-Stelinski
Dr. Kirsten Pelz-Stelinski

Associate Professor
Insect-Microbe
Interactions,
Vector Biology
(863) 956-8666
pelzstelinski@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

Dr. Mike Rogers
Dr. Michael Rogers

Associate Professor
Center Director
and Professor
IPM, Citrus Insects
(863) 956-8801
mrgrs@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

Dr. Lukasz Stelinski
Dr. Lukasz Stelinski

Professor
Insect-Microbe
Interactions
Vector Biology
(863) 956-8851
pelzstelinski@ufl.edu
Lake Alfred CREC

top

 

Everglades REC (Belle Glade)

 

Dr. Julien Beuzelin
Dr. Julien Beuzelin

Assistant Professor
Entomology 
(561) 993-1559
Everglades REC
jbeuzelin@ufl.edu

Dr. Ronald Cherry
Dr. Ronald Cherry

Professor
Pest Management on Sugarcane,
Rice, and Turfgrass
(561) 993-1529
rcherry@ufl.edu
Belle Glade EREC

Dr. Gregg Nuessly
Dr. Gregg Nuessly

Center Director
and Professor
Biological Control,
Vegetable Insect IPM
(561) 993-1559
gnuessly@ufl.edu
Everglades REC

top

 

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory (Vero Beach)

 

Dr. Barry Alto
Dr. Barry W. Alto

Associate Professor
Medical Entomology, Arbovirology
(772) 778-7200 ext. 153
bwalto@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Eva Buckner
Dr. Eva Buckner

Assistant Professor
Medical Entomology
Extension
(772) 226-6606
eva.buckner@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Nathan Burkett_Cadena
Dr. Nathan Burkett-Cadena
Assistant Professor
Mosquito Ecology
Biology of
Disease Hosts
(772) 778-7200 ext. 141
nburkettcadena@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Campbell Lindsay
Dr. Lindsay Campbell

Assistant Professor
Mosquito Ecology
(772) 226-6666
lcampbell2@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Cynthia Lord
Dr. Cynthia Lord

Associate Professor
Population Dynamics
(772) 778-7200 ext. 157
clord@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Derrick Mathias
Dr. Derrick Mathias

Assistant Professor
Mosquito/Arbovirus
Biology
(772) 778-7200 
d.mathias@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Larry Reeves
Dr. Lawrence Reeves
Assistant Research Scientist
Mosquito Biology and Ecology
(772) 778-7200 Ext. 137 
lereeves@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Jorge Rey
Dr. Jorge Rey

Center Director
and Professor
Wetlands Ecology
(772) 778-7200 ext. 136
jrey@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

Dr. Chelsea Smartt
Dr. Chelsea Smartt
Associate Professor
Molecular Entomology
Medical Entomology
(772) 778-7200 ext. 156
ctsmart@ufl.edu
Vero Beach FMEL

top

 

Fort Lauderdale REC

 

Dr. Brian Bahder
Dr. Brian Bahder
Assistant Professor
Insect Vector Ecology
(954) 577-6305
bbahder@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr, Thomas Chouvenc
Dr. Thomas Chouvenc

Assistant Professor
Urban Entomology
(954) 577-6320
tomchouv@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. Robin Giblin-Davis
Dr. Robin Giblin-Davis

Acting Director
and Professor
Nematology
(954) 577-6333
giblin@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. William Kern
Dr. William Kern
Associate Professor
Urban Entomology
(954) 577-6329
whk@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. Rudolf Scheffrahn
Dr. Rudolf Scheffrahn
Professor
Biology and Control
of Termites
(954) 577-6312
rhsc@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

Dr. Nan-Yao Su
Dr. Nan-Yao Su
Distinguished Professor
Biology and Control
of Termites, 
Structural and
Household Pests
(954) 577-6339
nysu@ufl.edu
Ft. Lauderdale REC

top

 

Gulf Coast REC (Balm)

 

Dr. Johan Desaeger
Dr. Johan Desaeger

Assistant Professor
Nematology
(352) 273-3938
dwd@ufl.edu
Balm GCREC

Dr. Lahiri Sriyanka
Dr. Sriyanka Lahiri 
Assistant Professor
Small Fruit Crops
Entomology
(813) 419-6585
lahiris@ufl.edu
Balm GCREC

Dr. Hugh Smith
Dr. Hugh Smith

Associate Professor
IPM of Vegetable Crops
(813) 633-4124
hughasmith@ufl.edu
Balm GCREC

top

 

Indian River REC (Ft. Pierce)

 

Dr. Ronald Cave
Dr. Ronald Cave
Professor
Biological Control
(772) 468-3922 ext. 145
rdcave@ufl.edu
Fort Pierce IRREC

Dr. Carey Minteer
Dr. Carey Minteer
Assistant Professor
Behavior and Evolution
(772) 577-7379
c.minteerkillian@ufl.edu
Fort Pierce IRREC

top

 

Mid-Florida REC (Apopka)

 

Dr. Lance Osborne
Dr. Lance Osborne
Professor
Biological Control;
Vegetable Insect IPM
(407) 884-2034 ext. 163
lsosborn@ufl.edu
Apopka MREC

top

 

North Florida REC (Marianna, Quincy)

 

Dr. Joeseph Funderburk
Dr. Joseph Funderburk
Professor
IPM on Field Crops
(850) 875-7100 ext. 146
jef@ufl.edu
Quincy NFREC

Dr. Xavier Martini
Dr. Xavier Martini
Assistant Professor
Biology and Evolution
(863) 956-8853
xmartini@ufl.edu
Quincy NFREC

top

 

Southwest Florida REC (Immokalee)

 

Dr. Jawwad Qureshi
Dr. Jawwad Qureshi

Assistant Professor
Entomology and
Nematology
(772) 577-7339
jawwadq@ufl.edu
Fort Pierce IRREC

top

 

Tropical REC (Homestead)

 

Dr. Daniel Carrillo
Dr. Daniel Carrillo

Assistant Professor
Management of Tropical
and Invasive Pests
(786) 217-9245
dancar@ufl.edu
Homestead TREC

Dr. Catharine Mannion
Dr. Catharine Mannion

Professor
Ornamental Pests/IPM
(786) 217-9241
cmannion@ufl.edu
Homestead TREC

Dr. akshina Seal
Dr. Dakshina Seal

Associate Research
Scientist
IPM, Insect Pests of
Vegetable Crops
(786) 217-9269
dseal3@ufl.edu
Homestead TREC

top

 

West Florida REC (Milton)

 

Dr. Silvana V. Paula-Moraes
Dr. Silvana V. Paula-Moraes

Assistant Professor
Crop Pest Management
(850) 983-7101
paula.moraes@ufl.edu
West Florida REC